Linux Audio Conference 2012
The Open Source Music and Sound Conference
April 12-15 @ CCRMA, Stanford University, CA, USA

Locations of visitors to this page



Conference Schedule

Timetable Format: Plain List | Table | iCal | Printable Version
All times are PDT = UTC-7

every day - all day  
 Oscar Pablo Di Liscia » Location: Listening Room
This composition is a, non-real time, entirely electronic piece (CA. 17.5 minutes) to be played without interruption between its four parts. This electronic composition was entirely created using the GNU Csound program (By Barry Vercoe et al, MIT). Electronic sounds are produced by means of several Synthesis and processing techniques. The only exception of this are the voices which recite the poems and several minor audio files used as source to be processed by Csound. All the Csound code used (in its unified format, namely csd) is provided together with the mentioned audio files plus a Linux script (or a batch file, for Windows users) which execute them (using the Csound Command line) to make the work entirely from scratch. Needless to say, the user must have an updated Csound Version properly installed in his system. The last version of the work was successfully made using the Csound version 5.13 (double samples) Feb 11 2011. This work, originally for 3D surround sound and lights, is the first part of a larger one that was commissioned by the National Secretary of Culture of Argentina and conceived to be performed in the reading room of the old National Library. By one hand, the work presents the argentine poetry in its environment. By other hand, all the selected poems deals with the night from different perspectives as are the sunset, insomnia, wakefulness, dream, nightmares, and dawn. The title (clair-obscures) sets a double reference: by one hand, the zones between the light and its absence which make the form arises (the chiaroscuro technique of the Italian painters leaded by Caravaggio). By the other, the multiple instances arising between the reference, the form and the sonority which are the essence of poetry and that electro-acoustic music may recreate with an intensity and precision without precedent in sonic art.

The schedule is a major guideline. There is no guarantee events will take place at the announced timeslot.
Last modified: Wednesday, May 15 2013 12:29 UTC - Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, Bruno Ruviaro & Robin Gareus
Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict Get Firefox

LINUX® is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the USA and other countries.
This site is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Fedora Project.
Hosting provided by the Virginia Tech Department of Music and DISIS.
Design and implementation by RSS.